Departments, boards, commissions and corporations

3.2.4

In Canada the work of government is conducted by federal departments, special boards, commissions and Crown corporations. During the past quarter-century this last type of organization, the Crown corporation, has been used frequently for administering and managing many public services in which business enterprise and public accountability must be combined. The historical evolution of Crown corporations is described in the 1972 Canada Year Book p 153. Part VIII of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10) provides a uniform system of financial and budgetary control and of accounting, auditing and reporting for Crown corporations. In addition, that legislation defines a Crown corporation as a corporation that is ultimately accountable, through a minister, to Parliament for the conduct of its affairs and establishes three classes of corporation — departmental, agency and proprietary.

Departmental corporations. A departmental corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is a servant or agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for administrative, supervisory or regulatory services of a governmental nature. The following corporations are classified as departmental corporations in Schedule B to the Financial Administration Act:

Agricultural Stabilization Board
Atomic Energy Control Board
Director of Soldier Settlement
The Director, The Veterans' Land Act
Economic Council of Canada
Fisheries Prices Support Board
Medical Research Council
Municipal Development and Loan Board
National Museums of Canada
National Research Council
Science Council of Canada
Unemployment Insurance Commission.

Agency corporations. An agency corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for the management of trading or service operations on a quasi-commercial basis or for the management of procurement, construction or disposal activities on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada. The following corporations are classified as agency corporations in Schedule C to the Financial Administration Act:

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited Canadian Arsenals Limited Canadian Commercial Corporation Canadian Dairy Commission Canadian Film Development Corporation Canadian Livestock Feed Board Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships Limited Canadian Patents and Development Limited Canadian Saltfish €orporation Crown Assets Disposal Corporation Defence Construction (1951) Limited Loto Canada National Battlefields Commission National Capital Commission National Harbours Board Northern Canada Power Commission Royal Canadian Mint Uranium Canada Limited.

Proprietary corporations. A proprietary corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is responsible for the management of lending or financial operations, or for the management of commercial or industrial operations involving the production of or dealing in goods and the supplying of services to the public, and is ordinarily required to conduct its operations without parlia-